First day at Red Hat in Brno

Finally I’m installed at Brno and yesterday was my first day at Red Hat.

Moving to Brno was easy because I just bring with me a cabin luggage. First day at Red Hat was a little accidental. It was raining and I ordered a taxi, but guess what, it didn’t come so I had to run to the building… But I’m still alive =P Some beers with Alberto, Rui and Debarshy (Fabiano couldn’t come that day) makes it better indeed.

IMG_20140928_213253

Here at Red Hat is pretty nice, you have all the commodities you could imagine like resting room with PlayStations and pool table etc. or massages room or a little gym. So you are sometimes tempted to skip work =P

IMG_20141001_132629

Also I have to be careful with my weight, because there are a lot of food and people normally go outside to eat, and here is not very common the healthy well balanced mediterranian food (although I found restaurants already that they do).

IMG_20140929_105448

Also Red Hat put some food free here… =)

IMG_20141002_093955

So, on the technical side:

I will work on Nautilus! I think my manager made the best decision on this. I want and need to learn Gtk+ and gobject + C, and a big project like evolution or so is kinda difficult for a starter. On the other hand Nautilus needs some love and there are a lot of places to improve, both in the UI(popovers, new mockups) and the “backend” (search as you type I’m looking to you!)

But I won’t leave gnome-shell, I would like to keep at least improving what I already worked on. That’s App picker and Overview. Also I have some patches waiting to be improved or getting review and merge them. Not just that, part of my work is to work on gnome-shell, so it’s not just a personal preference =)

So I’m very happy to be here and working at Red Hat in its work ambient. I really feel like  in home thanks to Alberto and colleagues and the relaxed workflow of Red Hat (as in be free as long as you make a good work in what you are supposed to do).

I’ll be update this regularly with my improvements in Nautilus, and I hope you like it.

Cheers!

14 thoughts on “First day at Red Hat in Brno

  1. I’m learning C as well. However not sure where is the best start point for Gobject and Gtk+. Let me know if you have interesting read as you learn. 🙂

    Wish you make Nautilus the best FM ever. 😉

    1. Hi Daniel, to be honest there’s not a easy way to get started with it, but it’s pretty cool when you start to understanding how all it works. I would recommend to take a look at demos and examples of gtk+ at the developer.gnome.org webpage or using the application gtk3-demo.

    1. Thanks you! Hope to see you next Guadec! (looking how you are improving more and more gnome-books, I am sure you will be next Guadec =P )

  2. Sad to hear the first experience with czech reliability came so soon 🙂 Asshole taxi driver. Anyway I hope Brno is kind to you!

  3. Heya 😀 stayed on Brno a semester as erasmus and i loved the town and everything 😉 Red Hat was so close to our dorms 😉 Well as a fanatic of gnome 3 i have just to hail you and cheer you up especially for reffering overview 😉 I ve tried many user interfaces on linux and i hadnt tried gnome 3 cause of some negative stupid reviews until i said to give it a chance mostly because of curiosity! Well! from the first moment i loved it! It dint took me even 5 minutes to be sure that this will be my primary UI from now and on 😉 Overview is the most clever , ergonomic and powerful feature that could have a desktop…I think gnome 3 is the only ui that can get compared with the quality of os x 😉

Leave a Reply

